Australia in Springtime

I’ve spent the past few months doing a fair bit of traveling and it feels wonderful to know that I’ll be able to stay in one place for awhile. Experiencing new cultures, sights and oceans is amazing for opening we humans up to how simultaneously small and large the planet is, but after awhile constant motion can feel monotonous without the balance of stillness and a sense of home.

For now, home is a 20 acre plot of wooded land with a creek running through and swamp wallabies noshing on native grasses near the Easternmost point of the Australian continent. How wonderful it is to have the opportunity to spend time in a place so throughly different from where I grew up, yet also to have the time to see all of the similarities culturally and otherwise to my homeland.

One of the differences that I am most relishing in is the abundance of right point breaks, for all kinds of crafts:

Mini perfection (looking quite a lot like Florida in coloration!)

New favorite non-logging wave:

Down the road:

Embracing the local culture and investigating Tarot cards:

2 Comments

  1. I am looking forward to my journey to Australia, unfortunatly not in the Spring time but in the middle of the Australian summer. I am expecting some of the most scenic landscapes and friendly people….

  2. Hi Lauren,

    I tried contacting you about a month ago in regards to consultation in giving advice as to the development of a natural surf wax in Australia. I am asking you because, I have read a couple of your articles published and you seem to be very passionate about keeping the ocean as natural as possible. If you are interested please contact me on the email given. If you are not interested, do you know any one who may be interested in giving me consultation on this matter?

    Regards,

    David Schindler

Leave a Reply

